With Our Trowels Combined…:Bridget Polk’s Week 4

by Bridget Polk, VCU Student
Week four of field school and what a hot week it was! I started out the week finishing a unit that I had begun helping an intern, Courtney, which contained a 20th century patio.  Down below, Courtney and I were able to take the unit to the previously determined subsoil from FF-18, a previous dig year. By the end of the week, I was back with my original dig partner Aaron. While I was with Courtney, I found 2 wig curlers making my total 3 thus far this summer. Quite an impressive number I might add.

Me with my two wig curlers!

Me with my two wig curlers!

Finally, it became time to take a field trip. This week, we visited the D.C. area starting out at the zoo and ending with a visit to Dr. Ruth Trocolli for a lecture on GIS applications in archaeology. I really enjoyed the trip, as it is not that often I get to visit the capital. Also, this happened to be my first time to go to the D.C. zoo. All in all, it was a good day and it was back to digging the next day.

A most photogenic Meerkat.

A most photogenic Meerkat.

Before the end of the week, I was back with Aaron at our old unit. We were able to bring the unit down to the top of the colonial layer where we discovered a feature! This was my first feature that I actually got to dig all season so Aaron, who dug out our 20th century utility trench, let me have free reign on it to learn how to dig it exactly. It was an experience to say the least, as we had to determine many measurements and make sure we mapped everything just right. But in the end we were able to almost finish the feature up before the end of the day Friday. I can’t wait to see what this last week of field school has in store for us.

The Western side of our unit where the new feature is located. You can also see a mole path in there as well.

The Western side of our unit where the new feature is located. You can also see a mole path in there as well.

 

Leave a Reply

