The return makes one love the farewell: Bridget Polk’s Week 5

by Bridget Polk, VCU student

This week was the final week of field school, topping off the month long experience. It’s great to finally say that I can participate in archaeology but I am reminded that there is always room to learn. New people can teach me new techniques or just help with my understanding of the field. I look back at my first blog post at how excited I was and realize that I am still just as excited as I was then, no matter how tired I may feel. I really did pick to do something that I love.

We began our week on a visit to Colonial Williamsburg in Williamsburg, VA. There, we visited the dig sites where they were looking for a market building and part of an old dormitory. From there, we saw the sites of the town, walking through Merchants Square and proceeding to eat lunch at the Cheese Shop. We walked over to visit the Conservationists where we got to visit the lab and view how conservation of artifacts happened.

 

Colonial Williamsburg

Colonial Williamsburg

The rest of the week, we took to cleaning up and finishing the units that we had started. Profiling became one of my favorite things to do, as it came naturally to me. I got to profile three walls by the time Friday came around. Around Wednesday, we took the baulks down all the way to the bottom of the unit. Who knew there would still be artifacts in the baulks? After finding a few nails and bits of ceramics later, we had the unit down completely. The last thing to do was to scrape our part of the site clean. Starting from the wall, all of us worked our way west, scraping the units to allow them to be fresh and able to be mapped by the interns and field director next week.

 

Our unit’s profile. Look at that stratigraphy!

Our unit’s profile. Look at that stratigraphy!

How it all transfers to paper.

How it all transfers to paper.

I will miss getting to dig but it’s time for me to be thinking about going back to school and graduating. While I sit in my desk in classes, I’m just going to be itching to be back in the field with a trowel in my hand, a pencil in my pocket, and a smile on my face.

 

 

Leave a Reply

